Lately, we've been hearing a lot about distracted driving and how it relates to using cell phones or technology while you are driving in Maine.

One of these tech gadgets that people love, including me, is wireless earbuds like AirPods.

We often spot people wearing these all day, everywhere they go, at the gym, in the grocery store, and sometimes just resting in their ears, even when they're not listening to anything.

Is it legal to wear Air Pods while you are driving in Maine?

Many of us do not know the lowdown on the rules about using Air Pods while driving in the state of Maine, so let me break it down for you as they are not cut and dry.

According to Maine Law, there is no law that strictly prohibits you from wearing Air Pods while you're driving. So it's not illegal to wear them, however, if a cop thinks that your Air Pods have contributed to any type of distracted driving, you could be cited.

The violations of this could include a $50 fine for the first offense or a fine of $250 for a second offense within 3 years.

Some states do have laws against wearing air pods while driving and those include, Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Virginia, and Washington.

Always make sure you are looking at the laws periodically because they are subject to change as we all know.

Top Stroller-Friendly Maine Hiking Trails with Views of The Water

Searching for a hiking spot where you can comfortably bring your baby along? Explore the top stroller-friendly hiking trails in Maine.

New Hampshire Fall Restaurant Guide: 8 Establishments Worth Visiting in the Autumn

Gallery Credit: Megan

More From WSHK-WSAK 102.1 & 105.3 The Shark