Don’t Get Busted By the Cops Today! Remember Jessica’s Law in New Hampshire
Depending on where in New Hampshire you are, various weather reports are calling for 2-4" of snow inland and closer to 3-6" on the coast. Regardless of where you are in the Granite State, there's one important thing to remember today (and every time it snows) -- play it smart and do not get busted by the police for laziness!
Jessica's Law was passed in New Hampshire in 2002
According to the Law Office of Manning & Zimmerman, back in 1999, 20-year-old Jessica Smith was killed while driving in Peterborough, New Hampshire after being hit by a tractor trailer. The trailer that took Jessica's life was actually struck by a massive chunk of ice that flew off another trailer traveling in front of it.
Three years later in 2002, legislation was passed and named "Jessica's Law," requiring all drivers to completely clean snow off of their vehicles, instead of just clearing off their windows.
New Hampshire Police Departments strictly enforce Jessica's Law
Jessica's Law isn't merely a suggestion -- various police departments around the state don't mess around and they will pull you over and fine you if you aren't in accordance.
Should you decide to tempt fate, when -- and that's not a typo, when -- you get pulled over, according to Jessica's Law, you'll immediately be fined anywhere between $250 and $500. If you roll the dice and get nailed a second time, expect a fine anywhere between $500 and $1,000.
Losing up to $1,000 for about one extra minute (maximum) of labor hardly seems worth it.
In an archived interview with WMUR back in 2015, Jessica Smith's mother, Linda, voiced that she never wants a mother to experience the suffering of her loss.
"It takes not even five minutes to clean off your car. It can take three seconds to kill somebody."