Queen have confirmed the release of a 40th anniversary edition of their classic album News of the World, which arrives on Nov. 17 in a deluxe edition. The star feature of the box set is the Raw Sessions CD, which includes an “alternative version” of the original LP, plus further bonus tracks and a documentary DVD.

First launched on Oct. 28, 1977, News of the World was their sixth album and contained the hit singles “We Will Rock You,” “We Are the Champions” and “Spread Your Wings.” It has sold more than six million copies to date and gone four-times platinum in the U.S. It’s the band’s biggest-selling record of their career.

Queen said in a press release, “For many devotees, this Raw Sessions CD will be the most intriguing component of the new release. Mined deep from long-vaulted studio multi-track tapes, this extraordinary paralleled album brings to light never-before-heard alternative versions of each of the album’s 11 tracks.

“Every lead vocal is different, as are most of the lead guitar parts and a great many other instrumental details. Here we experience ‘We Are the Champions’ anew – and for the first time at its full-recorded length rather than the edited 1977 album cut. Here also is the chance to discover peak era Freddie Mercury vocals on a track that nobody outside Queen’s inner circle has heard him sing before at all – Brian May’s ‘All Dead, All Dead.’ The original album version features May himself on vocals.”

The Bonus Tracks CD includes previously released but rare material. Other contents include a pure analog recut of the album, taken from unmastered tapes, Queen: The American Dream documentary, created from 1977 footage shot in the U.S., three posters and a 60-page book of images. The box set is available to pre-order now. A picture disc version, newly cut from the 2011 master, is limited to 1,977 copies and available for pre-order exclusively via the band’s official store.

Queen – News of the World 40th Anniversary Edition Track Listing

Vinyl LP: New Pure Analogue Cut
Side One
1.  “We Will Rock You”
2.  “We Are the Champions”
3.  “Sheer Heart Attack”
4.  “All Dead, All Dead”
5.  “Spread Your Wings”
6.  “Fight From the Inside”
Side Two
1.  “Get Down, Make Love”
2.  “Sleeping on the Sidewalk”
3.  “Who Needs You”
4.  “It's Late”
5.  “My Melancholy Blues”

CD 1: The Original Album (Bob Ludwig 2011 master)
1.  “We Will Rock You”
2.  “We Are The Champions”
3.  “Sheer Heart Attack”
4.  “All Dead, All Dead”
5.  “Spread Your Wings”
6.  “Fight From The Inside”
7.  “Get Down, Make Love”
8.  “Sleeping On The Sidewalk”
9.  “Who Needs You”
10. “It's Late”
11. “My Melancholy Blues”

CD2: Raw Sessions
1.  “We Will Rock You” (Alternative Version)
2.  “We Are the Champions” (Alternative Version)
3.  “Sheer Heart Attack” (Original Rough Mix)
4.  “All Dead, All Dead” (Original Rough Mix)
5.  “Spread Your Wings”  (Alternative Take)
6.  “Fight From the Inside” (Demo Vocal Version)
7.  “Get Down, Make Love” (Early Take)
8.  “Sleeping on the Sidewalk” (Live in the USA, 1977)
9.  “Who Needs You” (Acoustic Take)
10. “It's Late” (Alternative Version)
11. “My Melancholy Blues” (Original Rough Mix)

CD3: Bonus Tracks
1.  “Feelings Feelings”
2.  “We Will Rock You”
3.  “We Will Rock You (Fast)”
4.  “Spread Your Wings”
5.  “It's Late”
6.  “My Melancholy Blues”
7.  “We Will Rock You”
8.  “We Are the Champions”
9.  “Spread Your Wings”
10.  “Fight From The Inside”
11.  “Get Down, Make Love”
12.  “It's Late” (USA Radio Edit 1978)
13.  “Sheer Heart Attack” (Live in Paris 1979)
14.  “We Will Rock You” (Live in Tokyo 1982)
15.  “My Melancholy Blues” (Live in Houston 1977)
16.  “Get Down, Make Love” (Live in Montreal 1981)
17.  “Spread Your Wings” (Live in Europe 1979)
18.  “We Will Rock You” (Live at the MK Bowl 1982)
19.  “We Are the Champions” (Live at the MK Bowl 1982)

DVD: 'Queen: The American Dream'

Masterpieces: The Very Best Albums From More Than 100 Classic Rock Acts

More From WSHK-WSAK 102.1 & 105.3 The Shark