April is Distracted Driving Awareness Month
There are extra police patrols all over New Hampshire designed to crack down on distracted driving.
This month, local law enforcement agencies in New Hampshire are stepping up their enforcement of the state's "Use of Mobile Electronic Devices While Driving" statute.
The New Hampshire Highway Safety has given grant funding to many municipalities throughout the state to pay for patrols specifically targeting distracted driving this month and throughout the year.
According to statistics from the NHTSA:
- 10% of drivers between the ages of 15-19 years of age involved in fatal crashes were reported as distracted driving.
- 38% of drivers in their 20's involved in fatal crashes were using cell phones.
- Five seconds is the average time someone spends reading a text message. At 55 mph, this is the equivalent of driving the length of a football field blindfolded.
If those stats don't scare you, a first offense will cost you $100, a second time costs $250.
Use common sense. Don't be like this guy.